Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’

This title could be in regards to myself or my topic of blog today.

I’ve been rolling again. This weekend, I am in Fort Worth, TX visiting my lovely sister, and my mom drove down from Arkansas. Girls weekend! When we get together, it’s cray-cray. Today, we joined Kay for her half-day of work; I did some filing, and Mom’s & I fluffed a fake Christmas tree. One of those things I am good at, and it doesn’t involve faux Christmas cheer. I have a pet peeve about fake trees, but that is not today’s topic. Then, we ate Panera & took Kay to her root canal – boo! Just saying, try to avoid one of those.

Anywho, today’s topic comes from my experiences yesterday. The wind was pretty intense around town before I hit the road yesterday. I even saw a tumbleweed on a road in the middle of town. And That is what we are talking about today. Tumbleweeds! Don’t close your browser just yet – my best stories are yet to come. During my 10hour drive through NM & TX, mostly on the NM side, the wind was atrocious! It kept buffeting the car around, and you could see the dirt layer in the air. And the tumbleweeds! I saw hundreds of tumbleweeds yesterday – big ones, little ones, round ones, already hit by someone else ones – hundreds! At one point, I literally drove through a herd of tumbleweeds being blown across the road. A Herd…of at least 20! I found someone’s blog who had captured the magnitude of tumbleweedage I experienced:

Imagine that, blowing at you/across the road in intervals for hours of driving. It was unsettling and kind of fun and interesting. I only had two previous experiences with tumblewi. First, during the drive across Kansas headed to Colorado with my hubs (boyfriend at the time) and his family. I remember them being huge; however, it was dark, and without a previous point of reference, I wouldn’t trust my teenage perceptions. Next, in the Rio, we captured a wild tumbleweed and made him our pet:

This is Terrence! He was our friend until our sweet puppy, Jackson – seen here sniffing Terrence tentatively, slowly chewed him to bits. We call Jack a vegetarian because he enjoys ingesting plant matter.

So, that was the high-point of my drive – tumbleweeds. It was a great 10hours. Hitting tumbleweeds with your car on the highway is pretty fun though because they explode into a million twigs. That’s probably why I had to pull out quite a collection of twiggery from the grill. It made me think of the road runner incident:

But that is definitely a story for another time. Have fun & be safe on this crazy-weathered weekend. Fort Worth looked like we were living in a cloud, and the hubs is getting snow! Thanks for staying tuned in despite the…interesting choice of topic. You must be my true friends : )

Leave a comment